Fiddler's Cove RV Park

 
4.3 (70)
191216 1 25 1 92

User reviews

8 reviews with 3 stars

70 reviews

 
(38)
 
(22)
 
(8)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.9  (70)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (70)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (70)
Value 
 
4.3  (70)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (70)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
Nov - Dec 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We have stayed here many times in the past and have always loved it however we did notice a general lack of attention and service on this last visit. 1} We noticed the general condition of the site. It had not been raked and cleared of sidewalk chalk, etc. as they have always done in the past. 2} We had requested a front row site but were told that none was available. Then there were two front row sites that stayed vacant three and four days after we checked in. 3} We had made the reservation back in July and when we checked in we were told they had a price increase effective December 1st and charged us the new price starting on December 1st. It was only after I showed them confirmation of our reservation at the old price did they issue a refund. All this being said we will continue to go there. The location is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
July 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We have Camped here for over 25 years. It is Beautiful. I have given it ONE STAR FOR OVERALL EXPERIENCE BECAUSE. It should now make a sign at the Entrance to stipulate "If your not Active Duty Don't Bother to Ask About Reservations". It used to be usable for Retired but not anymore, as an Example Active Duty Reserve ALL Holidays such as 4th of July one year in Advance. Indeed I spoke with folks who before leaving Book the Next Year. I have nothing against giving our Active Duty Priority. However, I do wonder why the 76 year old Vietnam Vet is for the most part completely excluded from using this Facility due to Availability. It seems that the Older Vet who served 20 years and more should get a little bit more consideration. That is my Opinion and I hope the Managers can make this more equitable in sharing rights such as Camp Pendelton and other Military Facilities where the time frame does NOT Extend to one year. Also I might point out that so many things can change in one year I believe the Cancellation rate maybe quite high? 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 19 8
April 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The campground itself is awesome. Nice big spaces, clean, nice people.  The only downfall is the barking dogs. Everyone owns a dog and everyone lets them bark, and bark, and bark. Laundry room is clean, price is only a dollar for the washer and a dollar for the dryer. The place would be perfect if people would be considerate of those around them and quiet their dogs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Oct 5 thru 8, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
WiFi very limited or non existent, cable not working.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 31, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As stated in the previous review, the entire camping area is under construction with a completion date of summer, 2011. At that time, they expect to have paved full facility sites W/E/S/TV. They did state that the time of completion may slide depending on numerous variables. Generators are currently allowed from 7am to 10pm and the sites are primitive with no electricity, water, cable, or sewer. They do have water and a sewer dump near the entrance to the camping area. They do have a fenced dog run with courtesy bags (lots of rabbits in there after dark); store; boat rentals; showers; laundromat; yacht club. Can get free wifi if in the right spot and turned the right way. Very helpful staff.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 15, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This park has been radically changed for "renovations". It appears that they simply pulled everything up, graded it off, and put in a great little sea wall. Unfortunately this location has great potential and is essentially just gravel parking lot with 41 sites in line. They allow generators, and most campers had large, cheap, loud generators running making the location loud. Our neighbors started up an old generator in their motor home, and filled our site with exhaust. We just decided it was time to leave. On the positive side, the shower facilities and store are great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10 - 16 Mar 07
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The campground is clean!!!! Personnel are very friendly. The only draw back is no sewage hook - up only water and electricity. You can check out the blue pull; however it takes time and away from your stay. Laundry 3 washers and dryers. Full all the time. You can only stay 15 days at one time. The view is absolutely beautiful; quiet. The town of Coronado is breathtaking. People are friendly, bring your bike, roller blades.... I would not stay there again, mainly because I want to have full hook up. Need to make reservations early.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
18 February 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here 7 nights the week of 18 Feb 2007. Qualified persons CAN sponsor a non-military guest rig. The greatest thing this park has going for it is its location. Coronado, San Diego, Tijuana Mexico, Sea World, the ocean and the San Diego Zoo are all easily accessible. So, the park gets a top rating for location. From there, the campground itself struggles. Campground Pros: Location; nice marina and boat rentals available; small store; gated entrance, kid friendly. Campground Cons: Very narrow sites; no sewer hook-ups; bathrooms are not clean. This is also a Marina and everybody uses the same bath and latrine facilities and it shows; limited recreational facilities beyond boats on site; no organized activities such as cards or crafts; first come/first served policy selectively adhered to regarding sites; NO WIFI access without paying $4/hr ( and then it's very slow). As a retiree with 30 years service, I look at MWR as our club membership, yet, I'm not seeing the value. When we come to San Diego in the future, we will opt to use our regular campground membership and stay elsewhere in the near-by area at a park with the amenities we like, surprisingly at a fraction of the cost of Fiddlers Cove. I guess we're spoiled and we'll vote with our boots. The Navy has not gotten it right. I'd suggest they send a staff person to Davis-Monthan AFB in Tucson to learn from those who do have it right. As stated, the Park has a perfect location and if you're only using it for a base of operations for a short period, you'll be satisfied. The Park at San Onefre would be a better choice, park wise. This Park is scheduled to close September 2007 for 4 months (or more) for a total reconstruction. This should solve some of the physical site deficiencies. It's a GREAT opportunity to get it right! An earlier reviewer noted that they would stay in the dry sites on future visits. If you have a generator and sufficient water, there's wisdom in this thinking. After 2 nights in the partial hookup area, we moved to the dry area and were somewhat happier. Great views! This time next year the facilities issues should be a mute point. Finally, to avoid a potentially thrilling trip over the bay bridge into Coronado, I'd suggest coming up highway 75 from the south (exit 5A off of I-5) through Imperial Beach. You'll avoid the high winds on the bridge and snaking through the narrow highway and traffic in Coronado to get to the Park.
DF
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
8 results - showing 1 - 8