Fairways RV Park

Fairways RV Resort

Featured
 
4.2 (61)
68176   1   16   0   42

User reviews

28 reviews with 5 stars

61 reviews

 
(30)
 
(21)
 
(6)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.4  (61)
 
4.2  (61)
 
3.8  (61)
 
4.2  (61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
28 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2-9, 2016

Great location makes the $30/night easier to take. (Just used to $18-20/night at most military campgrounds across the USA!) Nice campground. We have a 40' 5th wheel, which fit onto the pad, but the Ram 3500 dually had to be parked elsewhere. No way was it going to fit. It was also a little tight getting out of our spot, but still doable. Free internet worked well and took advantage of the free laundry. When we arrived, we had to wait over an hour for someone to return to the office. Wish we'd know about that, since I had called the day before, but no real biggie. Two dog parks. Every day I picked up poop that other people left behind. Oh well, is what it is. I'm sure we'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26, 27 June 2016

This RV Resort is ideal for a short or extended stay. There is a golf course steps away from the site, there is ample parking spaces and the hookup sites have ample size to accommodate all sizes of RV's. The restrooms were very clean and secured with a push key pad. The location is fairly close to beaches and a pier for fishing. The staff were very friendly and courteous, helpful and profesional. The Navy exchange is within walking distance. Small base everything is close by gas station, small movie theater front gate. The area is well manicured and clean. Overall for the price and value it was worth the amount paid. I would stay again and highly recommend it to others. Two thumbs up for this resort good job, Go Navy Rec.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2016

Gated community on a golf course. The camp is well maintained and has dozens of spacious pull through sites. The full hook ups and wifi were functional, though the wifi was tedious because of it's daily login requirements. Laundry was FREE. The commissary and exchange are close, but not walking distance. One of the best FAMCAMPs I've seen. It's close to the beach and the vehicle import facilities. Seal  lions adorn the docks if you know where to look. I had no problem entering and exiting the three gates. This is the home of the Seebees and you might have some additional entertainment as they practice tent set up, base defense or equipment operation. You can't find a better place, even if there were no winning lottery tickets just laying around.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Jul-4 Aug 2015

This is my second time here, the first was 4 years ago. The FamCamp has really been enlarged and a newer Bathhouse to accommodate the larger numbers of RV's. The issue with a detention center/detour has been resolved, just not here anymore. I had a good WiFi signal my whole visit. Everything seems well organized and even when I called on a weekend to make reservations, no problems encountered. Kudos to the efforts gone into this place. Recommend to all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 08, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 24, 2015 - August 10, 2015

This is a well run and clean facility with spacious pull through sites. Reservations were easy by telephone. Upon arrival one can choose a site based on availability. Laundry is free and the bathrooms were very clean. Convenient to Port Hueneme, Oxnard, Venture and Point Mugu. Sightseeing is convenient along the coast not withstanding traffic on the Pacific Coast Highway. Add to directions if traveling the 101, exit #64 - Victoria Ave, Turn left on W Channel island Blvd, then right on Ventura Blvd. Stay in right hand lane and enter the gate on 23rd Ave. Main gate, 24 hour gate, will be 50 yards. Do not use the Victoria gate as it is for commercial inbound only.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 28 - Apr 4, 2015

Very nice RV Park. We were surprised it was only about 25% occupied this time of the year. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was one the best we've ever had at a RV Park (still not 4G fast). Base has a good NEX and commissary. Enjoyed the free laundry (for now) and free movies on base. The Navy reservation system still needs to improve, but at least their trying to have a centralized reservation system. Enjoyed our visit!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2015

One of the nicest fam camps we have been to. Staff is very cordial and makes you feel welcome. Free laundry and free coffee every day. All spaces are pull through and level and clean and wide enough for your vehicle. Highly recommend to everyone visiting the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 12-14, 2014

Base stickers no longer required for entry onto the base. ID's for everyone over 16 years old, that's it. Clean, well manicured park! Didn't sense any activity or noise from the adjacent illegal (?) camp. Restrooms/showers are model. Camp Host Bob very attentive and on top of issues/problems. Quiet and spacious. We will be back!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 6-30, 2013

I am currently at the Fairways RV Resort. It is a very nice and well maintained campground. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. $30 a night is getting expensive for MWR facilities. I just traveled cross country from Maine and I stayed in some civilian campgrounds that cost less than this one and I don't belong to any camper clubs. The internet is iffy at best the cable TV is fuzzy as it is in most MWR campgrounds. Most of the sites are ideal for a regular camper but if you have a big rig with dual opposing slides then there is no parking space once the slides are out. There are three sites 9,10,12,13 which are wider sites and can accommodate big rigs with opposing slides. The sites are spaced so that you are not looking into your neighbor's windows. August first the new section will be open with 51 additional sites and they appear to be wider concrete spots so that should alleviate the width issue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 1-4, 2013

We dropped the kids off at camp in San Diego and my wife and I towed the Toy Hauler to Fairways RV Resort. Whenever the word "Resort" is in the title, you will pay more, $30 a night. Yes, it is expensive than most but you get what you pay for. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured. The spaces are wide with nice grass between sites. In addition, they have coffee and doughnuts at the office in the morning and a free laundry mat. We brought our two doberman's and there was places to run the dogs at night. The rules say that there is a maximum of two dogs per site and they must be on a leash at all times. At the camp site there is full hook ups with cable TV. The pad is relatively level with plenty of extra parking. Also at the camp site is a fixed charcoal BBQ. We saw the new part of Fairways almost completed. It is planned to be completed in August. It is as nice or nicer than the old part. Also the base theater is being remodeled as well and should be open by now. They offer free WiFi, however I could never get it to connect. There is no fire ring at the site, nevertheless we brought our own. Overall we enjoyed our time at Fairways and would go back again. I wished more military installations were as nice as Fairways. We enjoy camping at military installation as they are safe, other campers are friendly and there is no riffraff. Fly your American flag and enjoy your benefits.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25-28, 2012

The amenities offset the high daily rate. Free WiFi, Laundry, morning Coffee and paper and general beauty make for a great experience. The expansion of the park to double its capacity is in litigation and not scheduled to open in the near future, but we had no problem making a weekday reservation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 11-15, 2012

Great facility! Well maintained. Free WIFI, Cable and full hookups. The only detraction was it's location. You definitely need a TOAD to get around after setting up. Loved the free coffee and newspaper in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 29-November 5, 2011

This is a well-maintained, well-laid out campground. The interior roads and sites are paved. All sites are pull-thru. There is good spacing between sites. Free laundry is provided, as is a free daily, local newspaper. The staff is friendly and helpful. Base facilities, i.e., commissary, exchange, theater, car wash, etc are close. The new famcamp extension is on an indefinite hold: the contractor went bankrupt, and a replacement has to be found. During our stay, the current campground was only 1/4 full.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 2011

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Have stayed at nearly 20 different military RV parks and so far, this is THE BEST! Great amenities, friendly staff, beautiful location, new laundry and bath facilities - and they are adding more spaces! Some strategic netting to protect RVs from golf balls. Unused perimeter road (just inside base fencing) was great for walking, jogging, bike riding, etc. Great stay except WiFi was not always reliable and food on base is fair, not excellent. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 15, 2011

T.H. left this review using the Directory software: This is a beautiful, well maintained park. We stayed for 9 days and wished we could have stayed longer. The sites are roomy with nice grassy areas between each site. The Wifi reception in the campground (in the west area anyway) was a little iffy, but a USB Wifi plug-in with an external antenna fixed that (everyone has one of those, right?). Note that although the fees have gone up to $30, they have tried to compensate a little by making the laundry and newspapers free. I'll admit that the lack of a monthly rate is a little off-putting, but given the state of the Federal budget these days, I'll swallow hard and pay for the services I get.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 15, 2011

T.N. left this review using the Directory software: This is one of the best military campgrounds that I have been in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27-31 May 2010

We have stayed here several times and wanted to add a few updates. Loc: A short trip to Channel Island Visitor Ctr and close to Hwy. Clean/Hosp: Great as always. Amn/Fac: As already noted, being expanded in size, we think it will still get filled fairly well. Base has everything and recommend utilizing the little bar/grill at the golf course. Value: Even at the price, to be coastal, this is still a good value. Similar State Parks, some without hookups are $50 and more a night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8-15 May 2010

We stayed Mother's Day weekend and they had a great buffet at the historic Bard House located on base..very good. A must go-to is the Channel Islands Farmers Market on Sunday. Fresh fruits and veggies from the locals. Also fresh fish on the dock. The following weekend was the California Strawberry Festival in Oxnard with a large number of vendors and entertainment. The area has lots to see and do. We liked Ventura, a nice, layed-back town. The FamCamp has gone through renovation and has the best bathhouse I've seen. Very large and very clean. The sites are pull-thru and are large enough to park your towed out of the road. Large community room with big screen tv and computer terminals. WiFi worked well on my site. I recommend this FamCamp and will go back again, when in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2 to May 17, 2010

Great park wide deep sites. Clean rest rooms. Hosts are very nice and helpful. Only problem was the rate increase to 30-35 dollars. Construction has started to double the size of the park. I have visited twice and will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 28, 2009 - Jan 2, 2010

R.R. left this review using the Directory software: Paul, the manager, said that by this time next year there will be 45 additional sites as well as an overflow area. Funds have been appropriated, nearly $3 million. This is a great park with wonderful facilities that will only get better. Its very neat and well maintained. Full service base with everything you need.

Was this review helpful to you? 
28 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2