Fairways RV Park

Fairways RV Resort

Featured
 
4.2 (62)
73584   1   16   0   44

User reviews

24 reviews with 4 stars

62 reviews

 
(31)
 
(21)
 
(6)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.4  (62)
 
4.2  (62)
 
3.8  (62)
 
4.2  (62)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 9th, 2018

Most of the below reviews have many things that I agree with but overall I found the park nice. I got caught up with the price increase from $30 to $40. Even though my reservation said $30 they said sorry we had a price increase April 1st. The commissary and exchange are well stocked and clean. The laundry is free and so is the ice but the machine by us was broken. We were in site 47 with a 43 foot 5th wheel close to the laundry and dog park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 22 - February 1, 2018

I marked Amenities/Facilities and Value down for two reasons. The lack of any grass, particularly in the new area, and the 30% increase in cost (now $40) will give us pause before we stay here again. It is one of the highest we have experienced. Having said that, the staff and facilities are excellent and have always been very helpful and courteous.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 16 - January 6, 2017-2018

BE ADVISED, THE RATES FOR MILITARY/RETIREES HAS GONE FROM $30 TO $40 PER NIGHT, BOTH HERE AND POINT MUGU. Unfortunately, as with other military parks, the site fees do not seem to come back to the park. I noticed several sites with cones in them, indicating they are not open for campers, either because of electrical or water problems. Also, most of the grass is gone from sites, leaving dirt and weeds. I spoke with one of the maintenance men and he said that they are beginning a project to clean up the plants and trees which had begun to cover areas where people walk their dogs. While the description says that the sites are 40'long some sites are longer than others. In the older part, we are able to park our 45' RV with no problems. I also agree with the LK23 reviewer, there are still sites which look cluttered, even though the rules do not allow that. It is better though than in past years. The park staff have always been helpful and friendly at check-in and if I have any questions. One lady in particular, Sue, has been there for years and is always friendly when you stop in at the office. With the price hike to $40 though, we are going to look at a different park for our December trip in 2018. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 04, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Sep-3 Oct 2016

We came down US 101 from the north so instead of following the directions off of Hwy 1, we did the following: Got off US 101 at Exit 68, Seward Ave. Made a left on Harbor Blvd which will turn into West Channel Islands Blvd. Turned right on North Ventura Rd and then just past the Museum, turned right on 23rd St. Then followed the directions after going through the gate. Saved a lot of time and the traffic is much easier to deal with. Stopped at the NEX gas station which is just past the gate on the left and filled up with diesel for $2.44 per gallon. The end island closest to the road has the diesel pumps with clearance of 13’ 8”. Check-in was a piece of cake. We stayed in the “new” section on a cement pad that was very level. Plenty long enough of our 40’ coach and room to park the towd. Verizon had 2 bars of 4g and there is no problem getting a satellite signal anywhere here. Washer and dryers are free. Free WiFi that most of the time is very good. Slows down in the afternoon and early evening. Every 24 hours you will need to log in again. About a 35 mile drive to President Reagan’s Library and Museum, a must see when you are in the area. Make reservations online for that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 30th - July 5th, 2016

This is my first review. Stay here for the July 4th holiday weekend, Thursday – Tuesday. I have stayed at Seal Beach in Seal Beach and Fiddler’s Cove in San Diego. I must say that are top of Line when it comes to RV parks. Spaces are wide and the parks are well maintained. Will visited again. This is my only drawback. This is 2016 and it’s a shame that undercover Racism is still here on the military bases. The Camp Host is the person I’m talking about. It’s 4 of July weekend. On Sunday he comes back with new rules from the base commander. I have no problems that, but here comes a unnecessary comment (Your music will have to go. My group average age is 60. We are listen to Jazz and Blues. We are a group of 6 Motor-homes. The 2nd incident was Monday @ 1900 the Camp host Stop at your site and said that he was making his rounds and stop the check to make sure that thing was alright. We are on the second and third row parked behind each other. I watch him go to the end of the row and turn left and then proceed to got to the back of the park and turn back to go into his spot. He never checked any other rows. But the other rows had parties going with many outside guest. If you are doing row checks then do row checks, not stop at the only Afro Americans in the park. All our neighbors enjoyed the weekend with us so much they asked where we are going next so that they can be there with us also. But as I stated the park in 5 stars. Hospitality 2 starts due to camp Host. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11-14 March, 2016

Very nice facilities with large well kept sites.  Free laundry and clean bathroom and showers.  Great place for golfers with course a short walk from the Famcamp.  Seabee Museum on Base is new and interesting.  Large number of empty sites while we were there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 2015

KBUG (Know Before You Go). The back gate on Victoria is no longer RV friendly and it is not posted. No one seem to know which gates you can use or agrees on their hours. What is certain is that the base does not want RVs at the back gate now. HC

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

22 Jul 2014

As reported by other recent visitors this facility is in great shape, well manicured and maintained. Hard surface streets and concrete pads are all level (only minimal variation) and serviceable. Attending personnel are friendly and helpful. Check in is quick n simple. More than one dog run is available so there is plenty of room to exercise your pooch. Bathroom and shower facilities are squeaky clean. Except for occasional sirens from a nearby street, the park is 'church mouse' quiet. A great contrast from the thousand mile an hour activity outside the base. Much to do/see nearby. The US Navy is a great host.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 21, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1, 2014

(Nov 21, 2014 Edit - The below information is no longer valid). ALERT!!! If you are traveling here for 2014 4th of July please read this....the directions on website are always accurate, HOWEVER, the recent influx of immigrant children has affected this RV park. DO NOT go turn on Salsa Avenue, turn right on Pacific Avenue which is one street prior after coming through main gate off of Ventura Road. You will turn left onto 10th which is where the BeeHive Recreation center is located (you have gone too far if you are at golf course). They have opened a back gate into RV park which is directly behind Rec Center. You will need to drive perimeter of park to get to check in building....the refugee camp is located adjacent to the campground & no one knows how long it will be located there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 FEB --- 3 MAR 2014

Nice place, well built, and well run but as the price to maintain the MWR Organization creeps upward I will have to let go of one of my nicest benefits -- FAMCAMPing. BEK

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October, 2013

It's interesting how one thing changes the overall experience for us. Our time at the Fairways RV Resort was great except for one thing. As a previous reviewer said -- the water comes on each day and gets our motor home all wet on one side. That would be no big deal, except the water is so hard, that it leaves semi-permanent water marks and ruins the wax job on the RV. And it is VERY hard to remove. It is quite a project to remove the unsightly water spots along the whole side. So, in spite of the fact the RV park is well maintained, is in great shape, has free laundry with a great staff (friendly and helpful), we are going to have to think again about visiting that place. All the sites are on a great pad with nice amount of room between sites, but I get water spots all over the side of my RV. Do I want to go through all that again: washing, wiping, polishing, rubbing, scrubbing, polishing -- to get off the water spots? I don't think so.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 1, 2013

Excellent facility but a tad expensive. At 100% capacity MWR is making $900 per day. Small wonder that the coffee, newspaper and laundry facilities are free. I suspect that they have a very high overhead as there were always 3 people in the office.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 8 - 10, 2012

We called to make reservations on Tuesday for a weekend stay and I was happy spaces were available. I was surprised when I arrived and found the park only about half full with a lot of choices, from along the fairways to an entire empty row. The facility is well maintained, the staff are curious and friendly and our stay there was relaxing and enjoyable. The weather was mostly overcast which didn't matter to use because it moderated the temp and the sun still poked through occasionally. The chain-link fence is still surrounding the newly constructed, but still unavailable, spaces they've built. As mentioned in previous reviews the contractor filed bankruptcy and left most of the electrical and landscaping undone. The new spaces appear to be shorter than the old ones and I'm not sure that a Class A 34' or longer will fit. They are wider such that one could almost put two RV's side by side but by the time the aluminum picnic tables, which are sitting un-assembled inside the fence, are put in place half of that wide pad will be likely be patio. Hopefully they will find funding and a contractor to finish the job soon. But we did wonder why the local Construction Battalions don't step up and provide the labor to use as training and finish the job. Overall, we had a great weekend at Fairways. Note: the URL listed above doesn't take one anywhere useful. The guy I spoke with when making the reservation said to use this one to make online reservations: http://get.dodlodging.net/propertys/Fairways-RV-Resort-(Port-Hueneme)

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 30 - Oct 4, 2011

We just camped here for 5 days visiting family in the area. Fairways is one of our favorite military RV parks and it did not disappoint. There were very few campers in this time, probably because the registration fee has been raised to $30 a day. I do not believe it was that much last time we were here. That is more than we have paid at ANY military installation. The grass was perfect, not unwatered like another review mentioned. It is thick and healthy, though your car and rig will get wet when the automatic sprinklers come on during the night. The new construction of additional spaces looks close to being finished. There are 18 sites which are not yet sodded but the rest of the grass is in. The bathhouse is finished on the outside but it looks like the electrical work is not complete. There are wires lying about and one extension cord running from one of the current RV sites to the new bathroom. They have set aside room for two fenced in doggie parks but it does not look like they will put in grass as the gates are not wide enough for their riding mower to enter. I'm hoping that is incorrect, it is much easier to get a dog to do their business on grass instead of gravel. Rethink this please. We applied for and received permanent stickers to make entry to the base much easier next time we visit. Be forewarned, you will have to get a base pass before you will be allowed to enter the base. We have had no problems at Air Force bases by just showing our ID cards and being passed through. Not here. You must show ID cards for everyone in the car, insurance card and registration card to even be issued a temporary pass. You might as well go ahead and get a permanent sticker. Ours is now good until 2015. When the construction is finished, this will be one of the nicest RV facilities in the entire military. We will definitely stay here again and again as the civilian parks in the area are outlandishly expensive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2010

Stayed here for 3 years. Park is nice, and over time developed good relationship with hosts. Nothing bad to say about the park, other reviews are accurate. However, watch your wallet. Price to increase to 900 dollars a month for active, 1050 for civilian. WOW!!! That's 30 a night, 35 civ. This in itself is highway robbery. A shame to charge this much for what is supposed to be a military benefit. Anyway, we kiss this place and MuGu goodbye in a few days. Good luck expanding this park 45 more slots when they don't fill it now, at 23 a night. Hopefully, someone will wake up when they start losing money.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 2-5, 2010

Great park and facilities. However, do not go to Victoria Gate. Go to the main gate on Ventura and get your registration first even after 5 p.m. The base commander has set the security level to such that you need a pass. Take your usual stuff, ID, license, proof of insurance. ID card alone won't do it though you show it anyway besides pass.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

31 Dec 2009-3 Jan 2010

This is one of the nicer military RV parks we have stayed in. Check-in at the office (at the front of the park) was painless and parking into one of the wide 40 foot sites was easy. All of the hook ups are where they should be and there is a picnic table and b-b-q grill provided. The park is next to the base golf course and a short walk to the club house and a gym. Naps Grill in the All Hands Club has good b-b-q. Base gas station has diesel and propane. Large NEX and Commissary. Close to tourists spots; President Ronald Reagan’s Library, Channel Island National Park and Santa Barbara.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

End of August 2009

We agree with many of the reviewers that this is an exceptionally nice park. It is on the smaller side but there is plenty of space between sites. If you like to golf, you can't beat the location, although, if you are looking for a campground on the water, this isn't it. Beach access is close by, however. It is sparse with trees at the actual campground, if you like green there is a nice patch of grass at each site and lots of trees to look at on the golf course side. The campground requires a fair amount of "in city" driving to get to (it is in CA, after all), but the effort is well worth it. Once you arrive, you no longer have to use the Victoria gate as there is now access via the front gate. The BX and commissary are great and, since this is a small base, other services are close by. There is even a place to wash your rv upon arrival/departure at the base car wash on the south side of the main road. There are laundry facilities here which I do not believe is listed. Be prepared for much cooler temperatures here as compared to just a few miles inland, even during the summer. We woke up several mornings in August where there was a definite chill in the air in the am when temperatures later soared to the mid-90's further inland during the day. This is due to the ever present ocean breezes. A very nice stay for us. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 22- 23 2009

We spent 2 nights at this CG. The facility is very nice with nice wide paved spots. We parked at an end site next to the golf course. The area is ok. We didn't find the beaches near the base anything to write home about. I played one round of golf. The course is long & flat, kinda ho hum, but the worst day on a golf course is better than the best day in the office! We tried one of the local seafood eateries, Whale's Tail, suggested by the lady in the office, not bad! The NEX & Commissary looked pretty new & very well stocked! We would go back if in the area & needed a place to chill out briefly, but for us not a "destination".

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April, 2008

This is without a doubt 100 times better than Pt. MuGu. It is clean, well kept, grassed, and modern, for the same price. The location is good, the showers are spotless, and the sites are large and roomy. Now the complaints. PRICE!! 690.00 a month for an RV slot?? WOW!!! With ZERO amenities. Wonder how much profit they make off of us?? I bet it's a lot. They even nickel and dime you for laundry. I can't understand why they feel they need to charge this kind of jack, just cause it's California?? I know it doesn't cost near what they say it does. They could cut costs immediately by employing one person to run the office, instead of 3. Usually, the two girls there are outside chatting and smoking, and the male manager (I am not naming names on purpose) is rarely there. When he is, complaints fall on deaf ears, and he does nothing to address concerns. Just BS about how he doesn't have a say, he answers to yet another manager. Have the camp host earn some of the 690 a month he gets free, and by the way, living with one of the office managers, by cutting the grass. Monthly rate should be 450 a month, not 690. The only reason they get away with it is cause the place is nearly full all the time. I think it's a crime how the MWR treats current and former military members here and at Pt. MuGu, raking in HUGE profits. You know, make some money, but don't RAPE us. Also, the "clique" is in force here too, bending rules for "friends". They still charge 21 A night for "preferred" guests. We live there full time too, but are charged the full rate. I would advise anyone staying in this area to patronize private campgrounds when you can, and force these greedy money hounds to lower their prices!! Cut the staff to 1, and start treating you like a guest, not as if you must kiss their *** cause they give you the honor of staying there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2