Camp San Luis Obispo RV Park

Featured New
 
4.0 (69)
82999   1   23   1   45

User reviews

28 reviews with 4 stars

69 reviews

 
(26)
 
(26)
 
(16)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.5  (69)
 
3.0  (69)
 
4.0  (69)
 
4.2  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
28 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 24, 2017

we really like CSLO, and we stay here several times a year. this time we were treated to something really different.we were invited to the "new and improved" officers club for drinks and fellowship. loren Weeks, (Col. Weeks now retired)has completely remodeled the facility with a new lounge, and is in the process of doing a complete makeover of the facility to use for events like weddings, etc. the price to use this is so low that I can't believe it wont be reserved all year. you must be in some way connected to the military to reserve it. he is also getting ready to remodel the NCO club for regular use also (that's the large blg. next to the RV park) so a beer will be a minute away from the campers. they are making CSLO a really nice place for all, even if you don't use the RV park. but hey, guess what ? he has plans to double the size of the RV park. forward thinking people get things done, and loren has the mindset, so lets see how long it all takes. hey loren, how about a swimming pool and workout room :-) 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2017

This is our second stay at Camp San Luis Obispo and certainly not our last. The campground and base were very quiet and there were only 4-5 campers here the whole time. The sites are gravel, level and spacious. Each site has a fire pit and picnic table. There is no cable or wi-fi and no pool but there is a small exchange on base and a laundry facility. You can also eat at the dining hall on base. Plenty of room to ride your bike or walk your dog. All base staff are very helpful especially the girls in the billeting office. We used our satellite for tv and used our phone hot spot for internet with no problem. This is a great location for visiting the Hearst Castle. elephant seal rookery, area beaches and lighthouses. San Luis Obispo is a quaint little town with many shops and restaurants. We love the quiet here and great location. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2016

This famcamp is nothing special, it's very small but it's quiet and conveniently located to Pismo and Morro beach. Bathrooms are very clean. Laundry is away from the campground. $1.50 for washers and .50 cents for dryers. Sites are big and roomy. No wifi. Lots and lots of rodents so watch that they don't sneak inside. Lots of eagles circling. Very small commissary.  Not a bad place, just no amenities.  Playground for children but most of the equipment is missing. I.E.: swing set with no swings. Deer running through from time to time. If you're looking for a decent quiet stay, this place is great. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 4-11, 2015

Spent a week here over the Easter weekend. Park got full for a couple days, but was about 50% full the rest of the time. This is a nice, quiet park. We were encouraged to visit the dining facility and we're glad we did. Good food at a fair price. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. Lots of ground squirrels in the campground, which I was worried about. But we didn't have any problems with them and the RV (I have in other places). If you're here on a Thursday, be sure to visit the street market in San Luis Obispo. Pretty large and great prices on vegetables (lots of food as well). As mentioned previously, this park may soon start to be full more often. Reservations are highly suggested. We almost didn't get reservations, as we were told none were available. But luckily, they found us a spot. There are overflow sites available, with no hookups. We also enjoyed meeting and visiting our neighbors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2014

We spent a week at San Luis Obispo and the location can't be beat. San Luis Obispo is in a beautiful area and very convenient to touring the area. The sites are large and it is very quiet. We did not eat in the dining facilities, so I can't comment on it. Amenities/Facilities I gave a 3 because of the barriers at the gate. We have a Dodge 3500 Dually truck and it was extremely difficult to go thru. I do understand that we need to have security on our bases, but we have stayed at Military Campgrounds across the United States and I feel that this was the most difficult to maneuver. If the barriers were set up a bit differently San Luis Obispo would be a 5.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June and July 2013

L.R. left this review using the Directory software: - Great campground with spacious gravel sites and new restrooms/showers. Picnic tables at each site but some are in need of repair. Deer, turkeys and hawks abound in the campground. Laundry is about 2 short blocks away and is well equipped including a commercial washer and dryer for those wanting to launder sleeping bags or blankets. Very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2013

o.k. this is in answer to the last post regarding 100% disabled vets. i talked to the folks in the billeting office who agreed that the new base commander said no 100% DAV. i asked why " of all people to kick off the base, someone who was injured in battle ? it made no sense. she told me that SLO had adopted the rules in place at camp roberts. so i called the folks at camp roberts. i was told that only those with DOD identification could use the base amenities including the r.v. park. O.K. then everything is as it was, DOD I.D. has always been a requirement? apparently this got started for whatever reason. i have no idea what caused the last poster to say what he did, but the rule still appears to be the same, anyone with DOD identification can access the base. maybe the last poster is one of the few 100%DAV people that never bothered getting a DOD card, i don't know. as always call SLO in advance, they give preference to cal. nat. guard - as it should be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 3-5, 2013

There is a new policy in place - no 100% Disabled Veterans allowed at the RV camp. As a 100% Disabled Combat Veteran I feel this new policy is discriminatory and quite possibly illegal. I'm trying to organize something to encourage the base commander to reinstate the older policy. ---- (Editors Note: 100% DAV is authorized to use this facility. However, a DD Form 2765 Identification card is required. The VA issued ID card IS NOT the correct identification. See the FAQ on this website for information on obtaining a DD Form 2765.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 12-14,2012

Great location and few campers during our stay. Bathrooms appeared less than a year old--nice. While there, gravel was being place in all sites--they appeared to be previously muddy when wet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 16, 2012

R.P. left this review using the Directory software: - Called the day before my arrival and was very surprised that the phone was answered. Lady on other end was very pleasant. When asked if space was available I was told yes. Full hookup was available for $23. Upon arrival gate guard was very professional and opened the delivery gate for us once my wife and my ID were checked. You check into billeting, pay, and then they assign you a space. When I went to the site. it was clean, and there was just one other 5th wheel there on full hookup. Two others were on the dry camping spots. Bathrooms are very clean (women and mens), two showers in each (one to accommodate physically challenged). Hookups at site all worked fine. A little noise from the street (about 100 yds away). If you don't have sat tv, you can get a few channels using your RV antenna. PX is open Weds, Thurs, Fri. Has essentials. What makes this location ok is that it is in the center, between Pismo Beach (12 miles), and Morro Bay (10 miles). There is no ocean or pools at this location so if you want the beach, you must drive to a beach front location. It is a good landing point for the two beach cities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

08 Aug to 07 Sep 2012

If hospitality were a separate category it would be a 5+. The billeting office personnel, security forces and all folks I talked to were awesome! When we came here almost ten years ago for the first time we thought this was a diamond in the rough. During the time up to now many improvements have been made very slowly and much in thanks to the officer who is in charge of facilities. I have talked with him often during stays as he is anxious to hear comments about the park. Of course the biggest complaint is the lack of road base and the mud bog the place turns into during a rain storm. We and many folks I know will not come here during the rainy season. We MAY have road base down within 90 days.....have heard that before! The problem is the installation does not receive MWR funds and depends on the State of California for budget money, good luck, as everyone knows California is broke! I have heard suggestions from other RVers to get the Seabees in to do the road work or the ANG Prime Beef units. Perhaps that could be looked into. During our stay we experienced the Labor Day weekend. It seems that some guy reserved two RV sites and packed them with tents and about 30 people, half of them kids who had no clue as to RV etiquette and walked, ran and rode bikes through everybody sites. They washed vehicles on the lawns and broke about 4 other rules. When you check in, you are not asked what type or size of RV you have so the billeting office had no idea that this guy did not have a rig. By reg they should have been in the overflow sections. There is a gentleman who drives through the park Tue through Sat and does minor maintenance. He is really a nice guy but he needs to have more authority to correct folks that are obviously breaking the regs, and maybe Security should be versed on the regs since they cruise the park often. On top of asking what type of RV you have when making reservations in the (RV) park, a copy of the regs should be presented, read by the camper and signed in understanding. We will keep visiting the park because of it's location, it's great employees and it is fun watching the park improve. As I told the Facilities Officer, build it and they will come!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 23-26 2012

We're here one more night because of the great coastal access to Morro Bay and a couple small towns just north of there. Nice bathrooms, although they need to be cleaned more often. The park has been full during our stay, make reservations. If you call the office and have to leave a message for a reservation call back because its likely they won't return your call. The PX is small and only open Weds,Thurs,and Fri. The park is nice, the mess hall is a great value, the gate guards very friendly. The separate RV/truck gate made getting on the base easy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 9th, 2012

o.k. guys, here it comes. i suppose it won't be long till reservations can't be had here, but hey, kudos where they are earned, huh ? the mens shower house is done, and damn ! it is really nice. one of the nicest i have ever seen, clean, clean, clean !!! two huge walk in showers with shower massage, two toilets, sinks, everything a nice bathhouse should be, and clean as a hospital operating room. it's definitly about time, huh ? now they say a load of gravel is next, so they do in fact read these reviews. but i'm sure this little place will now have a waiting line to get in. there is absolutely nothing to do here, but that is part of the charm with us. great job california !!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb.2-9, 2012

The women’s restroom is finished; the men’s should be finished soon, probably by the end of February. Laundry facilities are across from the exchange, $1.75 to wash and $.50 to dry. The exchange is small and only open 3 days a week. Our Verizon worked well as did our Dish TV. We heard that gravel is on the agenda, but don’t know when. If you have a large vehicle and want to visit the downtown area you should be able to park on the side streets or if on the weekend you can use the bank parking lots.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 19 thru 22, 2011

o.k. guys, lets be honest here. i try and look at all the bases objectively, and this is one of my very favorite places to stay. cool little park back in the trees, and a real nice place to stay in the morro bay area if you have a travel trailer and don't need restrooms and showers.
to say the mens shower house is very old would be understating things. this place goes beyond old and dirty clear to disgusting. it looks like it was built during WW11 and not updated or cleaned since. the shower room is old, old, old. made of concrete and open to all who shower together. the toilets are as i said WW2 vintage, the sink ! yep, one sink about 10 feet long, looks like a great big urinal, is also as old as the building, and bugs and spiders everywhere, all over the walls in the shower and floor under your feet in the toilet stalls. i couldn't help but notice they are building a 2cd. arbor to picnic in, so now they will have 2 of them that no one uses, all time the park needs money spent on gravel in the worse way. if it rains here you can get literally stuck in the mud. and please guys spend a dollar or two updating the mens shower house. all this said, i still love it here, i would just never recommend it to anyone who needed to use the showers and never during rainy season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 28, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Thanksgiving, 2010

We stayed 3 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. In addition to this relatively small base being empty, there were only 4 other campers at the RV park. If you are looking for a convenient spot in the Morro Bay / San Luis Obispo / Pismo Beach area, this facility is hard to beat. Morro Bay is 10 minutes from this location. San Luis Obispo is also 10 minutes. Pismo Beach is 20 minutes. San Simeon and Hurst Castle are a 45-minute drive. The RV park itself is located away from the main area of the base, so it is fairly quiet. Minimal road noise from CA Hwy 1 is heard, which is a 2 minute drive from the park. The previous comment about the road surface in the RV park being poor is correct. It is mostly dirt, and the ground becomes a thin layer of slick mud after rain or the morning grass watering. Across the street from the RV park, we were able to run our dogs on about 5 acres of open land. We will gladly stay here again, but we will bring additional pavers to provide a safe, solid surface at the door entrance and for under the leveling jacks. The staff at the billeting office is professional, non-obtrusive, and unassuming. The womens' bathhouse is currently lifted above the ground while new plumbing is installed. The mens' bathhouse was clean, and it would be easy to post a guard if a woman wanted to use the mens' bathhouse.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 02, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct.24, 2010

We only stayed here overnight so we could visit a relative. It was raining so there was lots of mud. They definitely need to bring in more road base for the drive lanes. The woman in Billeting was extremely nice and helpful. We needed to purchase two batteries for our truck, she helped find a store and give us directions. We will return, just not if rain is expected in the area until they put more road base down.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2010

We stayed here for an event at Cuesta College right adjacent to the installation. Very quiet pull through sites. We liked it very much. I just got off the phone with billeting to reserve for this September and they had just finished installing full hook ups for all of the sites! The bad news is the price now goes up to $30. Still, it's not too bad compared to off base campgrounds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18-21 June 2010

Really nice and quiet place, Billeting staff was nice and friendly. If using Garim GPS with down loaded Famcamp POI's ..it will take you to prison instead of campground, when you get to prison entrance just continue up the road till you get to Camp San Luis Obispo. Really enjoyed this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 5-10, 2010

Only four full hook-ups which can cause a problem with gray water dump in smaller rigs. I used my trailer shower because the women's shower area needs major improvements and I didn't feel safe in there by myself. Dining facility was a major plus! Great food and great price. I ate dinner there every night. Location is perfect for day trips to Hearst Castle, elephant seal beaches, Morro Bay and surrounding area. Lots of wineries and town of San Luis Obispo and Pismo Beach all 30 minutes or less away. Very quiet area and clean. Will go there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
28 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2