Little Rock AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.1 (56)
49463   0   16   0   17

User reviews

21 reviews with 5 stars

56 reviews

 
(21)
 
(23)
 
(10)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (56)
 
3.6  (56)
 
4.4  (56)
 
4.1  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 17, 2016

Easy access off of I 40. About 5 miles onto the base. It is a very scenic campground with some campsites shaded with the trees that border the grounds. There is a lovely pond with fountain that people were fishing in. Beautiful nature walk area and children's play yard adjacent to campground. There are quite a few long term people. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday. I called camp host and got no answer but we drove to the campground and there was plenty of empty spaces. There was an ' Honor System' message board with numbers of available campsites and envelopes for payment with a secure Dropbox. $15 bucks a night was very reasonable in my book for this campground. The bathrooms were locked with a access code box. Luckily another camper we met shared the code so we could shower. The showers were nice and clean as was the laundry room. We did not visit the commissary or exchange during our overnight stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Very nice facility. A real bargain in my book. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 20-25, 2016

New Camp Host named Rick, Really outgoing and friendly.  Rick has really been doing a great job making the camp a more favorable place to visit.  My wife and i are regulars there and the camp has never looked so good.  Rick is constantly keeping up with the grounds and facilities, even the wooded trails.  Thanks Rick for making our last stay a most pleasurable one. I understand they are adding more spaces in the wooded area.  Great.  When WiFi is installed it will really enhance future visits.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2015

Excellent facility. Great location. Surroundings were rustic(tucked into a wooded corner of the base). Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Easy in and out. All the conveniences of home. LRAFB  is definitely a city within a city. Personnel are friendly and helpful. ALL sites are full hook-up. Only problem someone might consider is the flight line noise. Four C130 squadrons and repairs and testing often go on around the clock. I loved it. We slept like a rock!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 25 - Oct 2, 2014

Oct 1st price went up to $15. This campground is being used by active duty and there is a loud speaker that plays all of the catchy tunes from revellie around 7, chow, national anthem, taps. You are on a working Air Force Base, you will hear C-130s although with a fan on, I didn't hear them. "The Major" (Mike) is the camp host and a really nice guy. The Base Library is close by, and has great wi-fi, movies to loan, audio books, desktops, printers, newspapers, magazines etc. Base has a thrift store & fitness center. Lawns are mowed if sites aren't taken. Campground bathroom and laundry are clean but the natural wildlife (spiders) tends to make themselves at-home and they can be quite big, for those who do not care for them. Washer and Dryer are 1.25 each. Campground bathhouse has a code to use, there's a bathroom across the parking lot that are not coded that are also clean. Some of the sites out front are too close together. They are doing work in the area and word is on Jan 1st, the rest of the sewers are going in. This place just needs a small touch of TLC and the potential is big. Stayed in a motorhome and will stay again. small tip,...First Wed of every month, wine is 15% off at the Class 6 PX by the Airplanes on display. Alot of people were taking advantage of it. They do have other alcohol there too. More so than the big PX.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25, 2013

Stayed one night. Friendly host and nice facility. Stayed at site 12 (pull through), picked up satellite easily. Only reason for 3 star amenities is the lack of wifi on site. Wifi is an increasingly important amenity.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2, 2013

A really nice area, and an excellent base with good facilities (dining, gym, bx, etc). They now have 50 amp service at all sites, with several pull-thru sites available. The only thing that keeps it from getting 5 stars on facilities is the lack of wi-fi service and not all sights have sewer hook-ups, though a dump-site is available. Noel and his wife do a fantastic job of hosting the camp, and are very friendly and helpful. If you have a large motorcoach (mine is 43') and are towing a vehicle, I found it easier, when heading North on 67, to get off at exit 9 and take the service road down to the third light and then left onto the base, rather than using exit 11. Exit 11 has a very hard and tight left turn and there's not enough room to keep the towed vehicle from going over the curb. Again, a great experience, and a great value!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 20, 2013

Had a wonderful stay and always look forward to passing through each year. We come through about 4 times each year. The facilities are clean, never saw any mold as mentioned in previous review, just needs to be updated. Good to see that they finished the electric on the hill and it's all upgraded to 50amp when before it was only 30amp. I have known Noel and his wife for a couple of years and they are wonderful people and very military minded. In fact she is a disabled vet and he is a disabled civilian, and it doesn't keep him from getting anything done that needs done, including cleaning sites that are left in a mess and damaged. Very kind and giving people. I have learned that her father and 2 brothers are also retired Air Force so they are definitely all about the military and taking care of them. They always give priority to Active Duty military and their families. I saw them take food and drink to people needing assistance while passing thru and give rides to the commissary for groceries. You can't beat good people like that. Again, if your traveling thru Arkansas, stop by, you can't beat $12 per night and wonderful hosts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-22 May 2012

Excellent FAM CAMP! Nice location, within walking distance of the lakes and shoppette. Bath house cleaned daily. VERY friendly and helpful staff. Excellent commissary, BX and Fitness Center. ITT is located in the Hobby Shop but has little to offer in the Little Rock area. The base library has free WIFI with a 4 seated chair/desk lobby which is open 24/7. VERY CONVENIENT!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2011

LRAFB is a beautiful base with everything you'd ever want (commissary, pool, theater, etc. Also close to Jacksonville/Cabot. The 50 amp sites stay full. As soon as one pulls out, another is in. You could check the paper posted at each site, find one leaving soon, and move in as soon as they leave but after being in the 30 amp for the night we decided it was good enough so we stayed. In fact we extended the 1 week to 10 days. The showers/laundry were clean and heated. The hosts were great and there is a nice trail around the little lake and through the woods. You can cross the road and take quite a hike around the big lake. No, there is no sewer but there is a dump right as you leave and I saw several with the little sewer totes hauling them to the dump. All in all, I think this is a great camp and $12 per night is a real value compared to the $33 (30 amp, uphill sewer connection) private camps I found elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 29, 2011

Great FamCamp we used as an overnight stop on our way to Florida. Park host explained that WiFi and cable TV is in the works and perhaps adding sewer to the gravel campsites too. For $12.00 a night ...well worth the 11 miles off of I40. We will be back on our next trip thru Little Rock.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 28 - April 1, 2011

R.I. left this review using the Directory software: We found the assistant camp host to be most helpful when we arrived. The camp had been deluged with a heavy rain storm - so there were a few puddles to deal with, but the drainage was good and the sites were all high enough to remain dry. Our original plan was to spend three nights here, but after seeing the facilities and available amenities - decided to spend 6 nights here. The weather has been unusually cold, but the forecast is for 70 degree days for the rest of our stay. (40 degree nights). The camp location - on the base - is convenient to everything. The only thing missing is diesel fuel for big rigs.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 24, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 18 - 24, 2010

I had a excellent time here.. The camp hosts are very friendly and helpful. I loved the large concrete pad. This one I rate high on the parks I have been in. Excellent place.... Thank you very much....

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 27, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 Oct 2010

Overnight only due to family emergency. We planned on staying longer. Beautifully kept up RV park & bath house. Noel (host) was so helpful getting us parked and set up. All website info/directions above on LRAFB is correct and up to date. Still no diesel on base, but avail 0.6m out the back gate, near the RV park. This was my first look at LRAFB since C-130 Initial Qual back in 1974. It sure has weathered the years well. We slept well, rocked to sleep by those turboprop "sounds of freedom".

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 01, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 25, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 days here and can't wait for our next trip to come back. The camp hosts Noel and Deb went above and beyond any hosts we have ever met. Since you can't make reservations, they were full when we arrived but Noel came right out (8:30 P.M.), greeted us and put us in the overflow. The next morning, Noel came to our camper and informed us a camper had left and he had a spot for us. After we got set up, Noel came over to make sure all was okay and checked to see if we needed anything. The next day we met Deb, his wife and she sat down with us and explained where everything was on base (gave us a base map) and also what to see in Little Rock and the surrounding area. The campground was spotless, and all facilities where exceptionally clean and functional. I would highly recommend this campground as the spaces are large and roomy and easy to get into and out of. Once again, much thanks and praise to Noel and Deb for their kindness and the professionalism that was shown to us and the other campers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2010

Wife and I just got home from our summer travels and thought we would write some comments on places we have stayed. I must stay that our trip to LRAFB was probably one of the best. We only intended to stay a few days and actually extended another week. You can tell the facilites need updated but they were kept as clean as people utilizing them would allow them to stay, wife loved the laundry facilities. My wife got sick while there and the hosts wife assited with locating medical facilities as well as pharmacies. She also gave us maps of the area and recommended several things to see we weren't aware of. The electrical needs updated but when we had electrical issues the assistant host really helped us out. Whoever came up with the idea of having a host and assistant host was right on track, it's nice to know someone is available. They were both very respectful as well as helpful. Hopefully things can get updated and maybe they could get WiFI in that area. Upon reading some of the other comments on this site I can't believe how personal and slanderous some of them are. I know if I had that many issues with the FamCamp I wouldn't be back. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2010

WOW, had a wonderful time at LRAFB. The Family Camp Host/Assistant Host were fantastic. Very helpful...Facilities are old but you can tell that they do their best to keep them clean. I does seem that there is some malicious mischief going on around the facilites. Hope that they catch whoever is doing these petty things. They are just causing more tax payer dollars to be spent making repairs as well as time and effort cleaning and maintaining. Hats off to everyone for making us feel welcome. In reading some of the other comments I can only say that someone is very mean, bitter, and has no life. It's a shame...my family and I can't wait to come back next summer and spend some time. Hopefully the same hosts will still be there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2010

We stayed in the 'back 40' so to speak. It was very nice and quiet. My husband and I enjoy the security of the base camp grounds. Great RV site! Host is active duty, very friendly and knowledgeable. Assistant camp hosts also very friendly. Camp hostess printed off, just for us, a bunch of stuff to do around Little Rock, not just on base. It was like having a hotel concierge! Facilities are nice, even has a laundry room. Too bad no air conditioning LOL! It is a campground and there will always be bugs in an outdoor restroom (not sure what Travel queen is complaining about). Be careful, there are swarms of wasps around this year but not just on the Rock! Wi-fi would certainly be a big plus!!!!
ONE WORD OF CAUTION - there is a long time camper there (not sure why since the regs are for max 14 day stays only) who is obviously full of sour grapes. Take what they have to say with a grain of salt if your are willing to listen and move on to enjoy your stay. I certainly did!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 16-18, 2009

Just finished 2 nights at the RV park. Had no problems following the directions to the park. The camp host was very friendly. He was out and about warning us about possible flooding and what to expect. Graciously printed off a map to find the MWR building. Stayed in the back area but that was fine. It was quiet and peaceful. The nature trail is a wonderful place for a walk. Very enjoyable. Would recommend this as a stop over for anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8/30/07 to 9/5/07

The back site do not have sewage but the sites are worth it. 8 large concrete pads with a gravel side area with another concrete pad for the aluminum pick nick table. There are 6 sites on the perimeter that have only gravel but are nestled in the surrounding woods. The laundry is not temp controlled with only one washer and dryer. This is an excellant facilitie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5/31/07 to 6/5/07

Very nice and quiet cg. We stayed in the back (a dump station is on the way out), and was very happy. Ticks were our only major complaint--check yourself, kids, and pets often (we got here after the rain, and on Sat. we had a thunder storm). The area is beautiful with trees and we were fortunate enough to see the magnolia in bloom. Satalite was easy to find (we were in the center row) and the verizion air card worked great. Commissary and BX and the BXextra meets all your needs. Very safe feeling and the idea of a code for the restroom/shower and laundry is great. If you want to go out to eat the Western Sizzler (Mon-Fri) offers lunch buffet 12 to 4pm for $4.99 a great deal. We have marked LRAFB FAMCAMP as one to come back to. Thanks for a pleasant visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
21 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2