Little Rock AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.1 (56)
49481   0   16   0   17

User reviews

11 reviews with 3 stars

56 reviews

 
(21)
 
(23)
 
(10)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (56)
 
3.6  (56)
 
4.4  (56)
 
4.1  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 2014

Stay here for 5 days and it was ok. The only real complaint I have would be the spiders. There are lots of them, everywhere. Otherwise it's a nice clean stay, friendly camp host. Sites are big and comfortable. Very nice walking trail through the woods that is well maintained. Laundry room is clean, but filled with spiders. If spiders don't bother you, then you'll like this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 29 - Jan 2, 2015

I have been utilizing this fam camp for over ten years now and this is probably the worst condition I have ever seen it in. Prices have increased, womens bathroom lock did not work, shower and latrine area was very dirty and not maintained. There were even leaves inside. Construction on upper area very muddy and very little work in progress. In the future WiFi would at least make you feel like you were getting a little for the price increase. New camp host, I will give him the benefit of doubt. (Newby)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 2013

We stayed one night at the FamCamp while in transit. I was very disappointed with the setup…"Long Term" people (meaning people LIVING there) in the paved campsites while travelers were put in the NEW gravel slots. You have to like hearing Reveille at 0700 because the Giant Voice speaker is right at the FamCamp Park. Also, you will hear the noise of the C-130s on the flight line all night long as they do engine runs at all hours. Finally, the camp host was a retired civilian and couldn't get around because of his disabilities. This showed in the park…it wasn't taken care of very well. According to the FamCamp Host, the Wing Commander is not a fan of the FamCamp so they don't get a lot of support. I'd only stay here again if passing thru and there weren't any options. Next time, I'll plan on heading to another location/route to miss this place. They need to get the NEW gravel sites up to Full Hookups since they are only W/E right now. Also, they need to get Free WiFi…it's not available in the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2013

I have some bad and good reviews about the LRAFB campsite. It is a good place to stay it's location is just perfect it's close to the lakes and Shoppette. Fine laundry facility and I love the 0700 revalee every morning it wakes me up and keeps me on my toes. Nice shower house but it could of been cleaner my shower had mold in it and it looked awful. Two of the 10 sites are used by camp host and the Assistant camp host Noel is very rude and mean to military personal. Why is a civilian like Noel the camp host anyway? I think the camp host job should be a military retired person and you need only one not two. The other one works for the BX so she isn't there very much because of her other job and she is also a civilian and they both are taken away another job for the disabled veterans that need a job. Get a camp host that is nice and helpful and I might consider coming back to stay. You are ruining the campsite with bad and rude host but the campsites are a real value for $12 per night and could be a real hot spot with different hosts. My husband is fighting and serving his country and I don't like for civilians to be rude to us on our Air Force bases.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb. 25 to Mar. 1, 2011

The directions were accurate. The hardstand/full hook ups are shown as 10. However, two are taken by the host and asst. host, and six appear to be taken by those living there like a trailer park. That only leaves two and I was able to get the last one. The price is good but if you have to go to the 30 amp and water sites, you pay the same. The full hook up sites are close and there is a pad to park on but no patio. The hookups (water and elect) are between the pairs of sites so the odd number sites have a long way to the elect. and water. In the water and 30 amp sites, there are pull through with no shade and back in sites have plenty of shade. This is something to consider for summer parking. The bathrooms and laundry were clean. As was said by others, I was not excited about the FamCamp. I would not return for an extended stay due to non availability of full hook ups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

November 7, 2008

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Nice Famcamp. Clean and well kept.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 9-10, 2007

This park is appropriately priced for what it offers. We parked in the "back forty" and the cement pads are large and level. However, the electrical service is weak. We tripped a breaker, which required the service of an electrician to re-set as it took out the entire leg. This should NOT have happened (only the breaker on our pole should have tripped.) The young sergeant who came out told us that he has had repeated calls about electrical problems in this part of the park. When we thought at first that we would have to change sites, he pointed out the one or two sites that DIDN'T have a history of problems. Luckily, he was able to get ours working again so we stayed put for one more day, watching our electric usage carefully. While Outdoor Rec personnel are pleasant, there are no base maps available and no other information about the base, the CG or the area is provided. The camp host has one of the messiest sites and is right next to a space marked for transients--however the unit on that site appears to have been here for sometime and the space is also filled with junk. No one has figured out what the camp host does as most people never see him. This could be a great park if they get the electrical issues taken care of. We'd stay here again only on a transient basis (1-2 nights.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 9, 2007

When we arrived it was pouring down rain and the only site available had a lake for the patio area. We spent the night in a large parking lot adjacent to the Famcamp and picnic area. The area appeared to be clean, well-kept, and quiet. There was one site that had a concrete pad but the electric pedestal was not working so we elected to stay in the large parking lot so we could run the generator and not bother others. The freeway construction and rain made the whole base hard to find but once on station the gate personnel gave good directions. Would like to stay again when it isn't raining so I can see the facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 31 - June 2, 2007

Overall, this was a great place for tent camping! My marks would be much higher except for one major complaint, and it is a major problem. There needs to be a rule (an enforced rule) about pet owners cleaning up after their pets. There is dog poo every where off the beaten path and after the third time my son stepped in a pile of it on his way to go play at the playground, I had about had it! I started cursing every pet owner there (under my breath, of course!). It's ridiculous in this day and age that folks don't get on board with the pooper-scooper laws. It's just common courtesy. Other wise, everything else about the camp was very nice! We had no problem with ticks, the bathhouse was nice and clean, the BX/ Commisary were great, and Burger King was open at 6 PM on the weekend (which it is not at Tinker AFB). Sorry folks, but BK's does come in handy when you have a 5 year old in tow! I would recommend this campsite, but for now, take along your own pooper-scooper if you do go there!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2006

We found 2 full hookup sites open on arrival, one marked "Short Term Stay Only." The other open site had someone's car parked on the pad the entire four days we were there. We called the MWR office and took the "short term" site. The slab is just wide enough for the rig so you have to step off the steps onto grass/mud. The slab is too short for a 40' rig, but the asphalt approach is level enough that is not a problem. Our site shared an entry drive with the next site ...they had two cars parked in their area which would make entry/exit with the motorhome very tight. Strange that the partial hookup sites are much nicer than the full hookupsites with more privacy, large wide slabs, patio areas, and picnic tables. If you want a nice site, you have to settle for no sewer and 30 amp power!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2006

Woodsy setting near a lake. Quiet except for the ocassional airplane. Most sites clear enough for satellite access. 8 pull-thrus with large level concrete pads. Laundry with 2 washers and 2 dryers. Bathhouse with 2 showers each for men and women.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11