Little Rock AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.1 (56)
49420   0   16   0   17

User reviews

56 reviews

 
(21)
 
(23)
 
(10)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (56)
 
3.6  (56)
 
4.4  (56)
 
4.1  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
56 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 16-19 2017

The ramp at exit 11 is a mess. There's a stop sign at the bottom where you must merge with traffic on the frontage road. That traffic has stop lights. When things are busy traffic backs up way onto the freeway. You have to wait for some kind soul to let you merge in. It may be better to get off at the Main St. exit and take Marshall Rd in. You will still be outside the gate. Once through security it's easy to find the famcamp. We were told there were at least 7 open spots but 2 of them are not very user friendly. They're sort of a "Y" shape with a shared driveway. If one site is full they'd have to move their vehicle to let you in. The first sites, including these, are relatively small and close together. The main area has good pull throughs up the center,most of which are taken by permanent guests. You can tell by the elaborate patios. The wooded back-ins around the edges are decent. We had plenty of room and the trees/brush were well trimmed. There's no diesel on base but we were lucky to find a firestone store and got much needed new tires put on the next day. If you need to go to outdoor rec, it's located in the rear of the auto shop building. The large sign on the awning says Arts and Crafts but look for the lettering on the door that says outdoor rec.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

OCT 2015

This is a very nice FamCamp. It's clean and well maintained. There's an on-site camp host (when we stayed, it was a young active duty AF enlisted man). They don't take reservations and it's first come, first served. Payment is by check or cash for the camp host (outdoor rec may be able to take plastic, though). My RV GPS took me to one of the back gates where I was turned around and sent to the main gate. This is because there's a metal obstruction that's too narrow for RVs and the SP said that they've had several damaged, so just don't let them through any more. Be sure and head for the main gate! My wife and I both wished we had scheduled more than an overnight here - would have loved to do the nature trail and see the aircraft on display.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 17, 2016

Easy access off of I 40. About 5 miles onto the base. It is a very scenic campground with some campsites shaded with the trees that border the grounds. There is a lovely pond with fountain that people were fishing in. Beautiful nature walk area and children's play yard adjacent to campground. There are quite a few long term people. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday. I called camp host and got no answer but we drove to the campground and there was plenty of empty spaces. There was an ' Honor System' message board with numbers of available campsites and envelopes for payment with a secure Dropbox. $15 bucks a night was very reasonable in my book for this campground. The bathrooms were locked with a access code box. Luckily another camper we met shared the code so we could shower. The showers were nice and clean as was the laundry room. We did not visit the commissary or exchange during our overnight stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Very nice facility. A real bargain in my book. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28 June 2016

Nice pull-thrus, clean, manicured park.  Nature trail nearby.  Express store located with walking distance.  Bathhouse needs to be updated, but was reasonably clean. Since I did not check in at the office - used self check in at the campground - I did not get any information about facilities on base.  A map would have been nice. If passing through the area again, I will stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 26, 2016

We stayed here one night while traveling east and enjoyed our stay.  There is a lot of construction on 67/167 so it can get backed up.  Getting to the camp was confusing with the construction on base on Vandenberg Rd with no detour signs.  If the construction is still ongoing and the left turn to Arnold Rd from Vandenberg is closed, take the next left at Thomas Ave, left on Cannon Dr, then right on Arnold. We were greeted right away by camp host Rick and told which spots were available, to pick one then come back with the site information and payment.  Despite what is listed, all sites are full hookup.  There are eight pull thru sites and the rest back in.  We had a pull thru concrete site which was plenty wide but the length of the concrete pad was a little short.  The rear tires of our 35 ft 5th wheel were at the edge as were the front tires of our truck, which might make for an issue with larger rigs.  There was a large lip between the pad and the road on the front and back, so take it slow.  All the utilities worked well, no wifi or cable, but Verizon coverage was good as was over the air TV reception.  There is a nice picnic area near the entrance of the park and walking trails nearby.  We did not hear a lot of jet noise, which was very nice. The value is great (how can you beat $15 for a full hookup pull thru), the location is quiet, it can be a great park, we just didn't spend enough time there to get a long term feel for it.  If passing through again we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 20-25, 2016

New Camp Host named Rick, Really outgoing and friendly.  Rick has really been doing a great job making the camp a more favorable place to visit.  My wife and i are regulars there and the camp has never looked so good.  Rick is constantly keeping up with the grounds and facilities, even the wooded trails.  Thanks Rick for making our last stay a most pleasurable one. I understand they are adding more spaces in the wooded area.  Great.  When WiFi is installed it will really enhance future visits.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2015

Excellent facility. Great location. Surroundings were rustic(tucked into a wooded corner of the base). Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Easy in and out. All the conveniences of home. LRAFB  is definitely a city within a city. Personnel are friendly and helpful. ALL sites are full hook-up. Only problem someone might consider is the flight line noise. Four C130 squadrons and repairs and testing often go on around the clock. I loved it. We slept like a rock!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 2014

Stay here for 5 days and it was ok. The only real complaint I have would be the spiders. There are lots of them, everywhere. Otherwise it's a nice clean stay, friendly camp host. Sites are big and comfortable. Very nice walking trail through the woods that is well maintained. Laundry room is clean, but filled with spiders. If spiders don't bother you, then you'll like this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3-5 Sep 15

Directions are good; no problem finding the base and site. It's several miles off I-40, not a problem but unexpected. We didn't go into Little Rock but if that's someone's plan be prepared. The site is in a nice location on the base, convenient to the BX/ commissary and shopped. The sites area pretty basic and seem to be maintained in a haphazard manner. The bathrooms/showers are old and were dirty; seriously dirty. We met the host who had us put cash in a box at his trailer; pretty simple. The site is pretty sparse but satisfied our basic needs. We would stay again. Staying there is a value and not to far off the beaten path.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

23-27 Mar 15

Stayed during spring break 2015. The Host had a family emergency during our stay, so no help getting things done. We were supprised to find out that open fires at the campsite are not allowed, yet you can have an open fire in the BBQ pits provided at each site. Trips into little rock were longer than expected due to the construction on the highway, there is a camping world down the road on I30. I found the lake nearby fun to fish in, and there are fish but one for every two turtles. Be very careful, we found a copper head near our site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 29 - Jan 2, 2015

I have been utilizing this fam camp for over ten years now and this is probably the worst condition I have ever seen it in. Prices have increased, womens bathroom lock did not work, shower and latrine area was very dirty and not maintained. There were even leaves inside. Construction on upper area very muddy and very little work in progress. In the future WiFi would at least make you feel like you were getting a little for the price increase. New camp host, I will give him the benefit of doubt. (Newby)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 25 - Oct 2, 2014

Oct 1st price went up to $15. This campground is being used by active duty and there is a loud speaker that plays all of the catchy tunes from revellie around 7, chow, national anthem, taps. You are on a working Air Force Base, you will hear C-130s although with a fan on, I didn't hear them. "The Major" (Mike) is the camp host and a really nice guy. The Base Library is close by, and has great wi-fi, movies to loan, audio books, desktops, printers, newspapers, magazines etc. Base has a thrift store & fitness center. Lawns are mowed if sites aren't taken. Campground bathroom and laundry are clean but the natural wildlife (spiders) tends to make themselves at-home and they can be quite big, for those who do not care for them. Washer and Dryer are 1.25 each. Campground bathhouse has a code to use, there's a bathroom across the parking lot that are not coded that are also clean. Some of the sites out front are too close together. They are doing work in the area and word is on Jan 1st, the rest of the sewers are going in. This place just needs a small touch of TLC and the potential is big. Stayed in a motorhome and will stay again. small tip,...First Wed of every month, wine is 15% off at the Class 6 PX by the Airplanes on display. Alot of people were taking advantage of it. They do have other alcohol there too. More so than the big PX.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 21-24, 2014

Most of the sites are now full hook-ups, with 30 and 50 amps. There's still about 7 sites without sewer, but it's getting installed at them. We spot checked a number of them and they all were full hook-ups. The front 10 sites have shared hook-ups which means you need long electric plugs and water hoses. The back sites have normal hook-ups. When we arrived at the campground the grass was very high but later in the day they were mowing. Now there is freshly mowed grass just outside my front door. We stayed in a motorhome and would stay again. Still no wifi on site but we had good Verizon signals.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 2013

We stayed one night at the FamCamp while in transit. I was very disappointed with the setup…"Long Term" people (meaning people LIVING there) in the paved campsites while travelers were put in the NEW gravel slots. You have to like hearing Reveille at 0700 because the Giant Voice speaker is right at the FamCamp Park. Also, you will hear the noise of the C-130s on the flight line all night long as they do engine runs at all hours. Finally, the camp host was a retired civilian and couldn't get around because of his disabilities. This showed in the park…it wasn't taken care of very well. According to the FamCamp Host, the Wing Commander is not a fan of the FamCamp so they don't get a lot of support. I'd only stay here again if passing thru and there weren't any options. Next time, I'll plan on heading to another location/route to miss this place. They need to get the NEW gravel sites up to Full Hookups since they are only W/E right now. Also, they need to get Free WiFi…it's not available in the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25, 2013

Stayed one night. Friendly host and nice facility. Stayed at site 12 (pull through), picked up satellite easily. Only reason for 3 star amenities is the lack of wifi on site. Wifi is an increasingly important amenity.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2, 2013

A really nice area, and an excellent base with good facilities (dining, gym, bx, etc). They now have 50 amp service at all sites, with several pull-thru sites available. The only thing that keeps it from getting 5 stars on facilities is the lack of wi-fi service and not all sights have sewer hook-ups, though a dump-site is available. Noel and his wife do a fantastic job of hosting the camp, and are very friendly and helpful. If you have a large motorcoach (mine is 43') and are towing a vehicle, I found it easier, when heading North on 67, to get off at exit 9 and take the service road down to the third light and then left onto the base, rather than using exit 11. Exit 11 has a very hard and tight left turn and there's not enough room to keep the towed vehicle from going over the curb. Again, a great experience, and a great value!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 20, 2013

Had a wonderful stay and always look forward to passing through each year. We come through about 4 times each year. The facilities are clean, never saw any mold as mentioned in previous review, just needs to be updated. Good to see that they finished the electric on the hill and it's all upgraded to 50amp when before it was only 30amp. I have known Noel and his wife for a couple of years and they are wonderful people and very military minded. In fact she is a disabled vet and he is a disabled civilian, and it doesn't keep him from getting anything done that needs done, including cleaning sites that are left in a mess and damaged. Very kind and giving people. I have learned that her father and 2 brothers are also retired Air Force so they are definitely all about the military and taking care of them. They always give priority to Active Duty military and their families. I saw them take food and drink to people needing assistance while passing thru and give rides to the commissary for groceries. You can't beat good people like that. Again, if your traveling thru Arkansas, stop by, you can't beat $12 per night and wonderful hosts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2013

I have some bad and good reviews about the LRAFB campsite. It is a good place to stay it's location is just perfect it's close to the lakes and Shoppette. Fine laundry facility and I love the 0700 revalee every morning it wakes me up and keeps me on my toes. Nice shower house but it could of been cleaner my shower had mold in it and it looked awful. Two of the 10 sites are used by camp host and the Assistant camp host Noel is very rude and mean to military personal. Why is a civilian like Noel the camp host anyway? I think the camp host job should be a military retired person and you need only one not two. The other one works for the BX so she isn't there very much because of her other job and she is also a civilian and they both are taken away another job for the disabled veterans that need a job. Get a camp host that is nice and helpful and I might consider coming back to stay. You are ruining the campsite with bad and rude host but the campsites are a real value for $12 per night and could be a real hot spot with different hosts. My husband is fighting and serving his country and I don't like for civilians to be rude to us on our Air Force bases.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5-6 December 2012

We spent two nights there, and it is a decent place and good price for what they have to offer. My wife was not excited about the 0700 revalee that they blast like an air raid siren all over the base every morning however. The shower house could have been cleaned better than it was, but it was still not awful. Until they finish modernizing one side of their campgrounds, they only had 8 usable sites when we were there. Two of the 10 sites are used by camp hosts, and all but 2 sites seem to be taken by long term users. We were told that they don't expect to have the other sites operational until March or April of 2013. All that said, if you can get a spot, it is still a great value for $12.00 per night with full hookups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-22 May 2012

Excellent FAM CAMP! Nice location, within walking distance of the lakes and shoppette. Bath house cleaned daily. VERY friendly and helpful staff. Excellent commissary, BX and Fitness Center. ITT is located in the Hobby Shop but has little to offer in the Little Rock area. The base library has free WIFI with a 4 seated chair/desk lobby which is open 24/7. VERY CONVENIENT!

Was this review helpful to you? 
56 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3