Engineer Beach RV Park

New
 
3.6 (36)
47006   1   15   0   18

User reviews

11 reviews with 4 stars

36 reviews

 
(12)
 
(11)
 
(3)
 
(7)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.3  (36)
 
3.1  (36)
 
3.7  (36)
 
3.8  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb. 12-16, 2015

We came down 231 from Troy and our GPS wanted to take us in to Fort Rucker on a closed road so be careful with your GPS. The staff was very nice and really wanted us to be happy! This Campground is very secluded in nature and very quiet with the exception of aircraft from time to time. TV reception with our standard RV antenna was slightly broken up from time to time. There are very strict rules here and they are apparently enforced… “Thank Goodness”… because the place is absolutely beautiful, clean, quiet and very well maintained! They have a clean after yourself rule here to include squeegeeing after you use the public shower and I suggest that you follow these rules because the grounds are equipped with video cameras so if you decide to leave a mess then smile you are being filmed and you will be asked to leave! The lots are very roomy, level and with trees as mentioned beautiful place. This place is great both for the elderly (like us) to relax and also for the young family because there are picnic grounds with playgrounds and beach nearby (driving distance not walking distance). The Commissary & Class 6 is well stocked but the PX was a little on the lean side, we were surprised that it is so small. We found Fort Rucker, Dothan and Ozark to be very nice and clean but outside of these we were discouraged with the roadside litter outside of Fort Rucker. The people in this area seem to be very nice, both on post and off post.

Engineer Beach RV Park Fort Rucker, AL.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24-25 Nov. 14

Real nice place, nice pads, level and clean. Bath house and Laundry were real nice and clean. Outdoor rec. people were nice and helpful. Everything on post was easy to find, we will stay here again but only longer next time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 11 - 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this campground. The site had a nice concrete pad and the campground was very nice. All of the people we interacted with were very friendly. Our GPS did not work with the coordinates, it brought us to a gate that isn't listed. If in the area again, we would definitely stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9 May 2012

The RV Park is a away from main base, nothing in walking distance. It's on the lake and nice and quiet. The whole place had been upgraded since our last visit. Sign in is now at the marina and the camp is a few miles down the road. Lots of open spaces when we were there, reservations weren't needed. All roads have been paved along with most sites. I have a little rig and only need electric when I stop for the night. There isn't full hook up but a dump station. WiFi wasn't up yet. Antenna TV OK. Still I couldn't get the cheaper rustic areas, they are saved for longer stays. The new bath house was finished, neat and clean, two big open showers on both sides. There was a laundry and club house but they had combo locks. We were only there a night and the office didn't give us a combo. If we were staying longer we would have asked the Camp Boss. Another little quirk, Camp Boss doesn't sound as friendly as Camp Host but that's what they call it. The pictures on this site are older pictures and not of the new bath house or paved roads. Still you get the idea of what a nice quite area it is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 20 & 21 2011

The road to the campground is now paved as well as the campsites themselves. They are building a new bath house/laundry and it looks like it's almost complete. Verizon cell phone worked well. Verizon aircard also worked well, though I use an amp and external antennae so I'm not sure how it would be with a plain aircard. Overall a decent campground with plenty to do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

20 Oct 2010

I have stayed at this campground several times and enjoyed the experience. However, on the last occasion the campsites which have easy to get satellite signals were occupied by rental trailers which did not even use satellite. I believe this was very short sighted of the decision making for rental trailers. My wife does not like to fish so the TV is her only recreation while we stay there and off the air TV is very limited. Other than that I really like the area. Since I never stay beyond 1 black water tank lack of sewer is not a problem.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 8 - 9, 2009

J.O. left this review using the Directory software: We enjoyed our stay at the RV park. Out side of the whirlybirds during the day it was very peaceful and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25 to August 1, 2008

We enjoyed Lake Tholocco and our camping experience. We stayed in number 24, one of the new modern sites. Our campsite needed much attention. We carry a weed eater and a blower in our Class A Monoco LaPalma so cleaning up the site wasn't a problem for us, however, it should have been done by whoever was in charge of grounds. Some of the long termers allowed their animals to roam the campground so we had to be careful where we stepped. Our little poodles came face to face with three large golden retrievers on more than one occasion while we walked them on a leash. We loved the fact that they take "golden access passes". It made our week stay very reasonable especially if one was on a fixed pension. We live less then 50 miles from Fort Rucker and had hopes this might be our next "Tyndell Fam Camp". We are not fully retired yet and because of that it gets harder and harder to find a spot during the winter months within our time frame. The helicopters flying at night are much quieter then the raptor which is a great plus. You can still talk when one flies overhead. LOL This place has so much potential to be a great place to camp if they would build a modern laundry and restroom/shower facility to go along with their modern sites, a recreation center to meet other campers and pave the road to the RV park. I just don't understand why they didn't put sewer and cable in when they built these new modern sites. The pavement stops after passing the entrance to the "new" lodging cabins. Hey Rucker lots of us RVER's on the road today looking for a good place to camp. Tyndall Fam Camp is the money maker for all of MWR. Why not give TYNDALL AFB fam camp a run for their money and draw people from all over this nation to Rucker? The #1 action to take.... remove "CAMP BOSS" and replace it with "CAMP HOST" Have a great day!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2007

Quite an improvement over the last 2 years. New campsites and better facilities. Easier to locate and improved office management. Roads are still dusty and a little rough, but not too bad. Would recommend to all military RVers who want peace and quiet and rustic surroundings.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2007

The campground had been cleaned up considerably. The new pads are level and large, with both back in and pull through sites. It is quiet (aside from the helicopters flying overhead on occasion) and rustic. The bathrooms/showers desperately need updating and a good cleaning, but since we don't use them it wasn't an issue for us. A bigger issue (and one that would keep us from staying longer than a week) is the lack of sewer hook-ups. However, the power was strong and the setting is beautiful. There are still some old units on the old sites, but they appear to have been cleaned up. The issue of no signs indicating that you should check in at the MWR office at the marina is a big one. However,it would have been almost impossibe for us to park our 36' 5th wheel there in any case. I would suggest calling ahead on the day of arrival to get your site number so you can set up and then go check in. The gravel road is dusty, but otherwise in pretty good shape. At $7.50/day (with a Golden Age Passport) it is a great deal and we would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 25 2006

The new sites are an improvement over the older sites. They have nice concrete pads with numbered, lighted electrical and water supply posts. Yes it is still down a gravel road, but it is quite and peaceful in the pine trees, with the exception of the occassional helicopter overhead. We had some coyotes serenade us over Thangksgiving. They have redone the dump station and it is easier to utilize then in the past. The new sites can not be utilized for long term camping. The personel have always been helpful to us. If you have a Golden Age Card or a Golden Access Card it is half price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11