Engineer Beach RV Park

New
 
3.6 (36)
47006   1   15   0   18

User reviews

7 reviews with 2 stars

36 reviews

 
(12)
 
(11)
 
(3)
 
(7)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.3  (36)
 
3.1  (36)
 
3.7  (36)
 
3.8  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2 July 2010

I live in the area and have stayed here a number of times. The big turn-off to most is the lack of sewer (oh well) and the sad shape of the bathrooms. I was out on a drive lately and went down to the campground. I am happy to report it appears they are building a new, modern bathroom facility. It is large enough that it may even have a small laundry area? but I don't know for sure. The steel frame skeleton was being erected the day I was there. It is three times the size of the old one. More to follow.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 2008- July 2008, and then a weekend in Nov. 2

The cost of the campground is okay, it would be much better if there was sewer hook up. The camp boss and his wife are amazing, and made the stay much more pleasurable!! The bathrooms were very clean and the camp boss and his wife made sure it was not just cleaned, but properly sanitized, I was impressed. The dirt/gravel road is a nightmare if you like a clean car. The campground is a bit confusing to find, and unless you know it area, it's very hard to find the commissary and px- the campground is located on a very beautiful lake with a beach/water park close by. My children loved the beach, but you have to drive to the beach. The water around the campground is off limits. The rustic spots are priced just right, but the new spots are priced far to high, esp. compared to other campgrounds around, Fort Benning has amazing sites, with cable, phone, water, sewage, and a swimming pool, for the same price as only water and elec. at Lake Tholocco- something doesn't seem right about that. The price needs to be adjusted! There are a ton of pilots that live there, so they take up the rustic spots, which means you are most likely going to have to go to the "modern" site and pay a lot more for a cement pad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Labor day weekend 2007

The outside "ring" has the new sites. About 2 yrs old and nice and level. The grading around them could have better, when it rains the water pools in front of your door instead of running off. They are also "suppose" to be for no more than 2 weeks at a time, but they don't follow their own rules. Some of them have had long term campers on them.(attending schools at Rucker or transient workers) I even called and asked why but received the "run-around" on my query. (The inside ring is suppose to be for the long term campers). The bathrooms are at the far northeast end and are in pretty bad shape. Don't know why when they put in the new pads the bathrooms weren't upgraded. My wife refuses to use them and I know some people while we were there left the very next day due to the deplorable shape of them. The gravel road isn't that bad, just slow down and you'll be fine. The campground has a concrete boat launch that you are authorized to use if a registered camper. Pretty quite except when the Apache helicopters are flying out to the firing range, then they go right over the campround at low level. A good value if you don't mind the gravel road and the bathrooms. Great for the fisherman, the Lake is producing good fish now.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2007

Had heard about the nasty gravel road before arrival and took it real slow. Nice new concrete pads with new electricity and water hook ups, but why no sewer? The office has no parking area for RVs but was told on the phone the site number when reservation was made. Very, very dusty. Stayed there to visit family in Daleville but would stay at civilian park in Dothan next time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 21, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Drive thru on April 19, 2007

At least found signs this time to Engineer Beach RV Park, in 2002 it was almost impossible to find it (did not stay in 2002). Only improvement is the 30 modern sites around the rustic campsites. No one there to talk to. The parking lot for the playground and day visitors is being paved but the road to the RV park is deplorable. Our SUV was covered with dirt even after driving about 10 miles an hour on the road. Two pickup trucks seemed to think this road was for racing and almost ran us off the road. Would not take our 40' diesel pusher into this campground no matter how much discount you are given!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb 2007

Very rustic with no laundry and wouldn't dare use the showers. We also missed the office. I called and was told which site to go to, set up and check in later. Bad luck on first site. Plugged in, wires were crossed on pole and zapped our microwave and converter. Called back and was told to move to another site. Was only planning on staying a couple of days but had to stay over a week to get compensation for damage to our camper. Kept getting the run-a-round. We could not ride the motorcycle. Had to take the Fort Rucker safety course. Were told it would be $300.00. My husband has DE safety course but that was not accepted. Sorry but I was a very unhappy camper. I wish I had read the reviews before we camped here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2006

I fully agree with the guy who rated this a one. We were lucky as we stopped by there without the trailer along. But had the same problems, dirty bathrooms, no signs for office, etc. Office women knew nothing and seemed like it was work to talk to you, also found this same thing when called on the phone. Price would be cheap if used Golden Access permit, conditions very rustic. The worst military one have seen so far. Could be a great place if was fixed up as is on a lake and nice location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 7